Review: Ringling Bros. presents DRAGONS in Bridgeport through 10/27


CIMG1332

Use of multimedia enhances interactive nature of the show.

My family loves the circus! We have been to the Ringling Bros. and Barnum & Bailey Circus Big Top shows on Coney Island. My children were younger and did not remember all the acts, but they certainly remembered the thrill and excitement. When Feldman Entertainment, Inc. contacted me about DRAGONS, I knew it was time to bring them to “The Greatest Show on Earth.”

Prior to the Opening Night of DRAGONS, we talked about what we were looking forward to seeing most. My 5-year-old son was excited about the Shaolin Warriors; my 7-year-old daughter about the Hair Hang Heroines, and my husband and I always enjoy the nail-biting performance inside the Globe of Steel.

Another favorite is the All Access Preshow that is included with your ticket price an hour before the show. Talk about photo opportunities! Audience members can get close to the Ringling Bros. performers, get autographs, learn circus skills, and meet some of the majestic animals. Circus-goers will see a pachyderm paint a portrait and learn more about Ringling Bros. commitment to elephant conservation. This is the only time and place where you can register for a chance to win a masterpiece created by one of Ringling Bros. artistic Asian elephants. Unfortunately, we were unable to make the preshow  but one of our lucky winners brought her family and had a great time! Here are some pictures of the All Access Preshow from the Ringling Bros. Facebook Page.

CIMG1308

Motorcyclist doing a handstand on the motorcycle resting on a tight wire with two acrobats below contributing to the balancing act.

So, while I thought my kids were going to enjoy the circus the most, I actually surprised myself with my own gasps, shrieks, and applause! It’s true, Ringling Bros. DRAGONS is for children of all ages! I LOVE to take pictures, but I realized that if I blink or try to take a shot, I’d miss the somersaults on the double decker trapeze. Something else your family will see is the incredible strength and accuracy of the Shaolin Warriors, including being able to jump through rings of blades and a fire…BLINDFOLDED. That just became my new favorite act. Looking up, I also enjoyed the motorcycle on the tight wire with the ladies who balanced themselves on a double-decker set (see picture). The Cossack Riders of the Wind were also amazing to watch on the pretty horses (Look, no hands!). The friendly competition between two acrobat troupes is fun, but the music was catchy and got me jumping up and down in my seat. I still loved the Globe of Steel, though. Eight high-speed motorcyclists in one giant globe all at once; that’s still nail-biting. Of course, the menagerie of animals showing off their talents is always a crowd-pleaser, especially for the younger audience, but adults were also heard saying, “aw, how cute!” The elephants made their way around and made me smile with their act. And before I forget, Alexander Lacey and his big cats were eye-opening. Lions, tigers, and ONE trainer-oh my! Amazing courage! Actually, I liked how different dragon tribes were summoned to demonstrate the virtues of Strength, Courage, Wisdom, and Heart to arouse the dragons.

Enough about what I liked, I bet you are curious about what my kids enjoyed most. My daughter loved it all and my son enjoyed the clowns’ reenactment of the Shaolin Warriors demonstration. I must admit, the clowns did a great job of keeping the audience entertained (no cries) during scene changes and intermission.

DRAGONS is definitely a MUST-SEE show for the family.

Let me tell you how to get tickets to Ringling Bros. and Barnum & Bailey

Let me add that there is ample parking in the designated parking lot ($10 per car), but do allow extra time for that because it seems everyone is arriving at the same time! That way your family can enjoy as much of the All Access Preshow as possible. HAVE A GREAT TIME! And share with us your thoughts and pictures.

Disclosure: Feld Entertainment, Inc. provided me with complimentary tickets for my family.  The opinions I shared about the show are my own.

 

Leave a Reply

