Buy Apps From a Local Developer to Support St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital


Ruckus Media Group is a Wilton-based, independent family entertainment company that has developed nearly 20 innovative and educational apps for children to enjoy. Well, I have to say adults find them appealing, too. All of their apps have amazing graphics and are definitely engaging. If I see that my children have chosen one of the Ruckus apps, I give them extra face-time with the tablet.

If you’re looking for new apps for the kids for the long road trip or just to enjoy, check out the Ruckus apps. For the next several days, Ruckus Media Group  has reduced the price of their apps from $3.99 to $1.99. The best news? The company will donate to St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital 100% of the net proceeds of ($1.39 of each $1.99 app purchased) their entire digital library, including our favorites briefly reviewed below:

My first exposure to Ruckus Media Group was during the launch of Rainforest Survival Challenge, a game that my 3 year-old enjoys more than my almost 6 year-old. However, now that my first-grader is able to read more, she finds it more fascinating because she’s attempting to read the information about the animals and make better choices about which animal is more likely to survive the challenge against each other. It’s a great game overall for children whose favorite part of the zoo is the rainforest exhibit.

The second app that I tried was the Velveteen Rabbit. I loved the idea of being able to record myself reading the story page by page so that on the nights that I’m out, my children can still listen to me read to them. In fact, the first time they heard my voice, they were confused. When they figured out what I had done, they were delighted. Of course, everyone will enjoy Meryl Streep as narrator.

Then I got the opportunity to review Spot the Dot, which at the time I did not realize how much my son would  like love it. I thought he would get bored with some of the easier puzzles, but the fact that he was able to find the dots boosted his confidence. Although he still struggles with the brown dot and beyond, it’s one of his favorite games. For a while, he would ask for it by name, now he just goes to it as soon as I offer him iPad privileges. Spot the Dot is a combination of visual and audio excellence. If you were just looking to buy one app, we highly recommend this one.

Chuck and Friends: Friends for the Long Haul is another book app that’s on my iPad. Needless to say, my son is all over this one. The story is about “honesty, teamwork, and friendship” with fun games and car noises to rev up his interest. He now role plays with Chuck and his other friends. I have a feeling that this will be one of the apps he’ll want to come back to when he learns how to read.

My daughter just decided that she wanted to record her own voice as narrator for My Little Pony: Twilight Sparkle, Teacher for a Day last week. By hearing herself read the story, she is more encouraged to test out her reading strategies that she learned in class. This My Little Pony app is wonderful, even if your child (my son likes it, too, because of the games and the cool magical sounds throughout the story and in the games) is new to My Little Pony. It’s magical, colorful, and fun. The graphics and colors are, again, amazing. For me, it’s a real treat, too, to be able to share a toy that existed before they did, but oftentimes I cannot get the jingle out of my head. You know the one (warning this leads to a viewing of the old commercial)! Actually, I’d love to see a Care Bears app in the future.

One of my favorites is Andrew Answers, another book app. It’s so clever! My children don’t get the humor, yet, but it’s a great way for me to review strings of words that start with the same letter. Gradually, I’ll go over why the words Andrew chooses to answer with are so witty. I chuckle every time.

There are more book apps that your children will enjoy again and again, especially the holiday favorites. I know which ones I’m getting to support the St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital Thanks and Giving Campaign. Hint: I’m preparing for Christmas. Remember that all Ruckus downloads, including all the ones I mentioned above, are $1.99 (a bargain) from now through November 28th. For each app you purchase for $1.99, $1.39 (100% of net proceeds) is donated. Alternatively, you can donate directly to the cause via the Ruckus website, but why not support a local business for a great cause? Your kids will be happy to know that each time they play the apps. Have a friend with an iPad, iTouch, or iPhone? You can gift the apps. You’ll feel good, too, that you didn’t have to even get out of your pajamas to help a child. So join them to make a difference today. Every little bit counts.

One response to “Buy Apps From a Local Developer to Support St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital

  1. Pingback: hAPPy Friday! Win Ruckus Media’s My Little Pony App (12/9) « Moms in Weston, CT

Leave a Reply

